Beware of fake "VirusRemover 2008"

Many of the computer users just type “Virus remover” or “free antivirus” in search engine and hit enter to download anti-virus that returns hundreds of free virus remover tool. But now this time Security experts are warning of a new fake anti-virus software scam named VirusRemover 2008, that is spotted by Trend Micro. Trend Micro Enterprise Security delivers protection that improves automatically, minimizing the time to protect your organization from new and unknown threats. According to Trend Micro the hoax uses similar tactics to previous security program scams.

When you run fake “Virus Remover 2008″ that scan your PC and then brings up warnings that it is infected with a virus, then ask you to buy the full version of the software to heal your system at very low cost. To get this tool/software when you enter card or account details it’ll steal your card information & details, actually it’s a Hoax that is designed to do same.

Jovi Umawing of Trend Micro said -

Virus Remover 2008 seems to have distanced itself from the Windows-looking interface,It no longer uses the logo which distinctly resembles the one by Windows Security Center. This was done possibly because the old Antivirus 2009 interface is already too familiar to users, and that it might give away the fact that it is a fake anti-virus program.

 

Technorati Tags: ,

Is Canon India Website is Malicious ?

There is an interesting case that I want to share with you.

I am not sure if you guys are aware of it but last year researchers at Google released a paper at the Usenix conference titled “The Ghost in the Browser”.

The paper outlined research efforts at Google that spanned several months analyzing websites, their content, and the amount of malicious code discovered within the sites.

It was discovered that the URLs that Google generate as search results, a big number of those are malicious and it might harm the user’s computer. To keep its users away from such malicious URLs, Google start flagging these websites, by posting a warning sign; this site may harm your computer.

There is a big probability that if you are using Google search engine, you might have came across such scenario. There is a similar scenario that I came across and I would like to share it with you.

I read this on Suman kumar’s blog that Google has flagged Canon India website canon.co.in as potential malicious; Canon India’s Website is an Attack Site?

Google Search Result

I did a search for canon.co.in using Google, found out that it has been flagged as harmful and there is a warning against visiting it.

Google Search Results for for canon.co.in

I ignore this warning, and click on the URL; it took me to another page explaining clearly that this site harmful and you can access it at your own risk but there is no way Google will let you in.


Read more…

Page 1 of 11